Report for: Annual Council – 16 May 2016

Item number: 10

Title: APPOINTMENT OF POLITICAL GROUPS 2016-17

Report

authorised by: Bernie Ryan, Assistant Director Corporate Governance &

Monitoring Officer

Lead Officer: Michael Kay, Democratic Services and Scrutiny Manager

0208 489 2920 michael.kay@haringey.gov.uk

Ward(s) affected: All

Report for Key/

Non Key Decision: Non Key Decision

1. Describe the issue under consideration

1.1 To note the composition of political groups for 2015/16.

2. Cabinet Member Introduction

N/A

3. Recommendation

3.1 That the constitution of Political Groups be noted.

4. Background information

N/A

5. Information supplied by the Political Parties.

5.1 The Chief Executive has been notified of the constitution of Political Groups as follows:-

The Labour Group

Leader:Councillor KoberDeputy Leader:Councillor VanierChief Whip:Councillor JogeeChair:Councillor WatersVice Chair:Councillor Mallett

Secretary: Councillor Christophides

Assistant Whips: Councillors Amin, Mitchell and Reith

Group Treasurer Councillor Gallagher

Non-Executive members Councillors Basu and Mann, J.



Councillors:

Adamou Demirci Morton Adje Diakides Opoku Ahmet Doron Ozbek Akwasi-Avisi Eiiofor Patterson Arthur Goldberg Peacock Bevan Griffith Rice Gunes Berryman Ryan Blake, B Hearn Sahota Blake, M Ibrahim Strickland Bull, C Mann, S Stennett Bull, G McNamara Weston Carroll McShane Wriaht

The Liberal Democrat Group

Leader:Councillor EngertDeputy Leader:Councillor MorrisChief Whip:Councillor BeachamDeputy Whip:Councillor CarterGroup Chair:Councillor RossDeputy Group Chair:Councillor Newton

Councillors:

Connor Elliott Hare

Opposition Spokespeople:

Arts, leisure and culture: Cllr Clive Carter Children and families: Cllr Liz Morris Communities: Cllr Martin Newton Corporate and finance: Cllr Sarah Elliott Health and wellbeing: Cllr Pippa Connor Housing: Cllr Beacham Parks and regeneration: Cllr Bob Hare Social inclusion Cllr Ross Urban environment: Cllr Gail Engert

6. Use of Appendices

6.1 N/A

7. Local Government (Access to Information) Act 1985

- 7.1 Background documents:
 - Constitution of Political Groups 2015/16
- 7.2 The background papers are located at River Park House, 225 High Road, Wood Green, London N22 8HQ.
- 7.3 To inspect them or to discuss this report further, please contact Michael Kay on 0208 489 2920.

